The Year of the Pandemic


So I started teaching all online lessons during March through June this year. What an experience. I really missed my in-person lessons but was grateful to maintain all of my students and have meaning ways to do it. It did Facetime lessons and Zoom lessons.

In May I had a virtual recital. All students uploaded their pieces to YouTube and I posted several each night to the families to watch.

In June I taught in person Monday through Wednesday and still did Online lessons Thursday and Friday. When school resumed in August, I started teaching in person fulltime.

I am looking forward to a distanced recital on the 23rd of October. I’ll have six smaller groups coming to the Bountiful Davis Arts Center, where they will sanitize hands coming and going and everyone will wear a mask. Families will sit in groups of chairs away from each other and after the program, I ‘ll excuse one family at a time and give favors as they leave. I’ll report how this went.

We are all doing our best and can’t wait to get a vaccine! I love my students!

About jgubler

This is my 51st year of teaching piano lessons! Who knew I would last this long? What a ride! I enjoyed learning from my mother as a child, then Julie Wight as a teenager. At BYU, I studied with Reid Nibley and learned so much. I taught preschool at BYU, as well as in my own home for 8 years. I taught Kinderrmusik for several years in Bountiful and the Mayron Cole Piano Group Method for several years. I joined the UMTA (Utah Music Teachers Association) in 1995. I served as the Bridgerland Chapter President for two years and have been serving as the Davis Chapter Historian 2014-2020. I am currently on the State UMTA board, serving as the social media chair. I became Nationally Certified by the MTNA (Music Teachers National Association) a few years ago. I have been honored to be a judge for both AIM and Federation, as well as judging the Cache Valley Competition for several years. I love music and I love kids. I believe that any child can learn to play if they are willing to practice and not give up. How grateful I am to have an occupation that I love!
This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment