Group Classes and Recital a Success!


Thanks to all of the students who came to group class this week.  We learned about Tchaikovsky and “The Nutcracker”.  We did lots of listening, coloring, watched parts of Walt Disney’s Fantasia segments, did theory activities and some of the younger classes played “Nutcracker Bingo.”  We had a good rehearsal and everyone took home a Nutcracker and some of my famous “Honey Popcorn.”

The recital was awesome last night with another record crowd.  Great job to everyone.  I was so busy that I only got one photo of Piper.  Be sure to send in your photos for the blog.  Thanks for doing so well.  We have lessons next week and then are off until school starts in January.

About jgubler

This is my 51st year of teaching piano lessons! Who knew I would last this long? What a ride! I enjoyed learning from my mother as a child, then Julie Wight as a teenager. At BYU, I studied with Reid Nibley and learned so much. I taught preschool at BYU, as well as in my own home for 8 years. I taught Kinderrmusik for several years in Bountiful and the Mayron Cole Piano Group Method for several years. I joined the UMTA (Utah Music Teachers Association) in 1995. I served as the Bridgerland Chapter President for two years and have been serving as the Davis Chapter Historian 2014-2020. I am currently on the State UMTA board, serving as the social media chair. I became Nationally Certified by the MTNA (Music Teachers National Association) a few years ago. I have been honored to be a judge for both AIM and Federation, as well as judging the Cache Valley Competition for several years. I love music and I love kids. I believe that any child can learn to play if they are willing to practice and not give up. How grateful I am to have an occupation that I love!
This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment